1. Entertainment
Send to a Friend via Email

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Discuss in my forum

2011 Evening Standard Award Winners Announced

Miller and Cumberbatch Share Rare Best Actor Honors


2011 Evening Standard Award Winners Announced

Jonny Lee Miller (top) and Benedict Cumberbatch (below), whose alternating turns as the Monster and Dr. Frankenstein garnered them joint honors as Best Actor at the 2011 London Evening Standard Theatre Awards, held on November 20, 2011.

Courtesy of the National Theatre, Photo by Catherine Ashmore.
Updated November 27, 2011

Hosted by Dame Edna Everage, the ceremony for the 57th Evening Standard Awards took place on Sunday, November 20, 2011, at the Savoy Hotel.

The big story of the night was the dual award for Best Actor given to Frankenstein co-stars Jonny Lee Miller and Benedict Cumberbatch, who starred on alternating nights as both Victor Frankenstein and the Monster in the acclaimed London production directed by Danny Boyle.

Best Actress was awarded to Sheridan Smith, for her performance as a onetime barmaid in wartime, in Flare Path, while Kristin Scott Thomas, also a Best Actress nominee for Betrayal, received the Lebedev Special Award, a prize named after Evening Standard chairman Evgeny Lebedev.

The ceremony also marked the announcement of a brand-new prize, The Beyond Theatre award, which was given out to The Most Incredible Thing, a creative dance collaboration staged at Sadler's Wells from the well-known musical group The Pet Shop Boys, who teamed up with Javier de Frutos, a Venezuelan choreographer.

The list of 2011 Evening Standard Theatre Award winners follows below:

Best Actor:
(Joint) Benedict Cumberbatch, for Frankenstein (National’s Olivier)
Jonny Lee Miller, for Frankenstein (National’s Olivier)

The Natasha Richardson Award for Best Actress:
Sheridan Smith, for Flare Path (Theatre Royal Haymarket)

Best Play:
(Joint) The Heretic, by Richard Bean (Royal Court) and One Man, Two Guvnors, also by Richard Bean (for National’s Lyttelton)

The Ned Sherrin Award for Best Musical:
Matilda The Musical (RSC Stratford and Cambridge Theatre)

Best Director:
Mike Leigh, for Grief (National’s Cottesloe)

Best Design:
Adam Cork, for his sound design for Anna Christie and King Lear (Donmar Warehouse)

The Charles Wintour Award for Most Promising Playwright:
Penelope Skinner, for The Village Bike (Royal Court)

The Milton Shulman Award for Outstanding Newcomer:
Kyle Soller, for his performances in The Glass Menagerie (Young Vic), Government Inspector (Young Vic), and The Faith Machine (Royal Court)

Editor’s Award:
Awarded to Michael Grandage ("for making the Donmar Warehouse a star")

Beyond Theatre Award:
Pet Shop Boys and Javier de Frutos, for The Most Incredible Thing (Sadler’s Wells)

The Lebedev Special Award:
Kristin Scott Thomas, "for her contribution to theatre"

The Moscow Art Theatre’s Golden Seagull:
Tom Stoppard "for his contribution to Russian theatre and the international stage"

For more insight into this year's 2011 Evening Standard Awards, visit this firsthand account by the judges on this year's choices here.

  1. About.com
  2. Entertainment
  3. Performing Arts
  4. Awards News and Reference
  5. 2011 Evening Standard Award Winners - London Evening Standard Theatre Awards - London Theatre Awards - Theatre Awards

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.